Book Review: If You Come Softly


Student Book Reviewer: Tiziana R. – Grade 8

If you come softlyby Jacqueline Woodson
Speak, 2006
Pages: 181
Genre: Romance

Summary: Two people deeply in love but the people around them think it’s wrong. Elisha: A Jewish girl who falls in love but her mom thinks it’s too early for her to love someone.  Jeremiah: The black boy she falls in love with.

  • Did this book hold your attention?  Yes. 
  • Was the story what you expected? Were you disappointed? Surprised? So far from what I read, it’s kinda what I expected because the book does talk about how deeply in love they are but it also does talks about how people think that two people from a different religion or culture shouldn’t be together. So basically you could say that they are racist. 
  • Do you think that the book was suitable for your age? Too violent, swearing, sex, etc.: I think that yes this book is suitable for my age because it’s teaching us how to view things in life from a different perspective. Also teaching us about relationships, which many of us are starting to experience and that we shouldn’t be racist. 
  • Did you like/dislike the book? Why? I liked this book because it teaches you plenty of things and it kinda matches my level of matureness. It’s also similar to other books I read so it keeps me intrigued because I like romance books. 
  • Who would you recommend this book to, even if you disliked it? Give an example. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes romance and for people who like to learn from other people’s mistakes, so in their future they’ll be wiser. For ex: I would give this book to one of my best friends because she loves romance like me. 
  • Is this a stand-alone book, or is it part of a series? This is a stand-alone book not part of a series. 
  • Does the cover art match the style of the book inside? Yes it does because it shows two people from a different culture or religion (one is black the other one isn’t) and they are holding hands and staring at each other (it shows that they are in love).
Comments are closed.