Book Review: In the Woods


Student Reviewer: Richard B. – Grade 8

In the Woodsby Robin Stevenson
Orca Book Publishers, 2009
Pages: 124
Series: Orca Soundings
Genre: Realistic fiction

Summary: A boy named Cameron finds a little baby in the woods. Feeling bad for this little baby that was abandoned by his unknown parents, he tries to find the baby’s parents. To find the child’s parents he questions his sister, Katie, the person who sent him there in the first place.

  • Did this book hold your attention?  Yes. 
  • Was the story what you expected? Were you disappointed? Surprised? I was surprise because the story, when I first read, looked like a horror type themed book. Though, as I read through it, I found that it became more of a drama. It was surprising to find out that it wasn’t even close to what I thought it would be about. 
  • Do you think that the book was suitable for your age? Too violent, swearing, sex, etc.: I honestly think it was more for a female audience, as it introduced a lot of things having to do with the female body and having a baby. 
  • Did you like/dislike the book? Why? I dislike and like. I disliked it because it wasn’t for my audience although it isn’t the book’s fault. I liked it because it introduced a concept and theme I’ve never read in a book before. 
  • Who would you recommend this book to, even if you disliked it? Give an example. I would recommend this book to females, because, as I said before it’s more for a female audience. 
  • Is this a stand-alone book, or is it part of a series? It’s a stand-alone book. I like these type of romans because they have one story and one ending. They usually contain a lot of information regarding the story. 
  • Does the cover art match the style of the book inside? Not at all. This is why I said that it looked like a horror/scary/mystery book at first. 
  • Rate this book: Average
Comments are closed.