Book Review: Skank


Student Book Reviewer: Ramisa A. – Grade 8

Skankby Teresa McWhirter
Lorimer, 2011
Pages: 141
Series: SideStreets
Genre: Realistic

Summary: Ever since Ariel’s mom has been sick they have been moving to several lower-income houses because they couldn’t afford it. They decide to move to Vancouver’s Downtown East side at last. Ariel starts getting hate from girls in her new school. Then she starts getting unwanted attention from the mean girl’s boyfriends, which made the girls all mad about everything and started to be even more rude and harsh on her. All she has left to do is put up with what was happening to her, no other way to solve her problem. At last she was stuck with a horrible reputation she didn’t know how to deal with. 

  • Did this book hold your attention? Yes
  • Was the story what you expected? Were you disappointed? Surprised? I was a bit sure that something like the ending would have happened but wasn’t positive. I was surprised with many of the things that were happening in the book.
  • Do you think that the book was suitable for your age? Too violent, swearing, sex, etc.: To be completely honest I think it depends on who the reader is. I mean if someone “immature” ends up reading this book, they will have negative thoughts & stupid comments to make about the book. If you’re mature enough you wouldn’t make stupid and act all immature about it just cause it has cursing & dirty actions.
  • Did you like/dislike the book? Why? I liked the book. I liked it cause it was interesting and it was fun reading about some girl and her problems, even though the book wasn’t based on a true story. The thing I disliked about this book was how they didn’t describe each and every character in a way, like we the readers had to guess which was a bit not fun. :/
  • Who would you recommend this book to, even if you disliked it? Give an example.: I honestly don’t know who I would recommend this book to. If I have to recommend it to someone who is a stranger in this world it will be better for people who like stories that are interesting but not true. I would also recommend it to people who are actually going through the same situation as Ariel is, so they can understand and know that they aren’t the only ones.
  • Is this a stand-alone book, or is it part of a series? This book is a standalone book, it is by itself has no series to the book.
  • Does the cover art match the style of the book inside? When I first saw the cover of the book, I thought it was about some girl getting bullied and she just doesn’t get along with everyone at school & finally she meets this girl that helps her out and everything. My opinion was kinda right but it was slightly different from what I thought. To answer the question I guess it did match the story with a few things.
Comments are closed.