Book Review: Sticks and Stones


Student Reviewer: Alex K. – Grade 8

Skankby Beth Goobie
Orca Book Publishers, 2002
Pages: 86
Series:Orca Soundings
Genre: Romance

Summary: A young girl in high school named Jujube Gelb is being bullied about her sexual life, but on the brink of giving up she finds a way to fight the rough and cruel battle.

  • Did this book hold your attention?  Yes
  • Was the story what you expected it to be? Were you disappointed? Surprised? This story was how I expected it to be, but I was surprised because I didn’t expect it to be as detailed and cruel. 
  • Do you think that the book was suitable for your age? Too violent, swearing, sex, etc.: I thought this book was suitable for my age group and everyone’s age group, it also depended on how mature and serious the reader was. 
  • Did you like/dislike the book? Why? I liked this book because it was one the rare books that caught my attention, I actually learned a bit of inside scoop about girl gossip and I now understand girls better. 
  • Who would you recommend this book to, even if you disliked it? Give an example: I would recommend it to anyone who is mature enough to handle sex in a book. 
  • Was the book part of a series? Is it a book that you have to read the previous/following book to understand the plot? Or is the story self-contained? The story is self-contained. 
  • Does the cover art match the style of the book inside? Yes it does.
Comments are closed.