Book Review: Viral


Student Reviewer – Kaylyn R. – Grade 8

Viralby Alex Van Tol
Orca Book Publisher,2011
Pages: 131
Series: Orca Soundings
Genre: Realistic fiction

 Summary: The main character, Mike, has fallen for his best friend, Lindsay. So when he finally works up the courage to ask her out something goes really wrong and he loses her trust. After the horrible mishap, Lindsay shuts him out for the whole summer. When school starts she is a completely different person. Lindsay ends up getting herself into a compromising situation that has been filmed. So Mike tries to help her get through it.

  • Did this book hold your attention? : Yes
  • Was the story what you expected it to be? Were you disappointed? Surprised? I had a feeling, from the cover and reading the back, that I knew what Lindsay’s “situation” was. I did, in fact, meet my expectations. The only that I didn’t like was the ending. The author could’ve given us much more as opposed to what she wrote.
  • Do you think that the book was suitable for your age? Too violent, swearing, sex, etc.: I think that, for my personal taste, that there was a little too much swearing. But then again, it is written in the point of view of a high school senior.
  • Did you like/dislike the book? Why? I really did enjoy the book. I liked the story, the characters, the whole thing!
  • Who would you recommend this book to, even if you disliked it? Give an example: I would recommend this book to people who enjoy the whole concept of high school, the struggles, the love, the friendships, all of it. I would also recommend this book to anyone whose key interest in books, are the characters. In this book the author has created characters that are so very relatable. It’s almost as if you’re hearing Mike say this story right to you.
  • Was the book part of a series? Is it a book that you have to read the previous/following book to understand the plot? Or is the story self-contained? This book is-SADLY-not part of a series.
  • Does the cover art match the style of the book inside? Yes, actually one of the reasons I liked this book was because of how well the cover represented the story.
2 responses to “Book Review: Viral

  1. who is really going to look at this and think wow im going to find this book in the library nobody.

  2. I’m looking at it! 🙂